The society should prepare young people for leadership role in government and in industry by teaching a sense of cooperation rather than competition

Children of today are leaders of tomorrow, therefore it is important that the appropriate skills required for leadership be instilled in them. This will enable the society to develop in love and cooperation that will take them to the next level. The writer contends that in preparing young people for leadership role in the government or industry establishment, the society should take it upon themselves to inculcate a sense of cooperation and not the spirit of competition in it young stars. I strongly disagree with the author and my points will be substantiated in the two outlines below.

To begin with with, while unhealthy competition can have a detrimental effect on the development of a society, a healthy amount of competition is also needed to further take the society to a higher ground. For example, in the pharmaceutical industry that deals with the production of drugs that cater for the health need of people in a community, unhealthy competition can be detrimental to the health of people in that society because the unhealthy competition can result in production of substandard drugs from a competitor in order to sell more product at a cheaper rate. If this situation occurs the life of the people of the community will be put in jeopardy.

Apart from this situation of unhealthy competition, competition is needed for the development of a society. It is competition that foster innovation and creativity. If competition is lacking in government institutions or in industries, people will become redundant at their work places thereby neglecting or even circumventing their duties because no one is competing with them. For example, as seen in this contemporary times, industries that have monotonous right in producing a particular product tend to misbehave most of the time by either unnecessarily inflating their prices or producing substandard product or even creating artificial scarcity of their product because they do not have competitors . Situation like this do not enhance the development of a society and so competition should be encouraged among youngsters.

In sum, while some might argue that cooperation foster peace and progress among youngster if encouraged to, unnecessary cooperation can be counterproductive if such cooperation is aimed against the wrong thing. It can make a society descend into anarchy. For example if the youngster in a society cooperates and gang up against a leader in a community because they believe a law is unjust instead of solving it amicable, they decided to cooperate and turn the society upside down. This will only serve to hamper peace and progress in the society. Therefore, I disagree that only a sense of cooperation and not competition be instilled in youngsters.