People are mistaken when they assume that the problems they confront are more complex and challenging than the problem faced by their predecessors. This illusion is eventually dispelled with increase in knowledge and experience.

In a world filled with upheavals, paranoia, economic challenges societal expectations and ceaseless hullabaloos, it is not unexpected for people to feel pressured. Hence, they often cannot help but think that their predecessors had it easier. Although people often feel this way, this is only a phantasmagoric assumption on their path which can be dispelled with increased knowledge and experience. I give my approbation to what the speaker claims and hence, I agree with the speaker. Although some might lend credibility to the fact that a notion, once adopted might be difficult to change even when knowledge and experience are accrued, but experience has also shown that people are compelled to change the way they reason in the presence of a more compelling argument.

First, the world is not static, it is constantly evolving and the problem we face today might not be the one what face tomorrow. One of the things that makes life more challenging and byzantine are the problems we encounter in our daily lives which includes; work demand changes, societal demand changes, economic upheavals etc. If care is not taken, in the face of all these challenges, it might be difficult not to wonder if people before you had it better. After all, in a time that predates this one we currently live in in Nigeria, our predecessors lived a more simple life and did not have to worry about things such as paying school fees, work demand changes, paying water and electricity bills, keeping up with technological advancement in order to remain relevant etc. In as much as this seems compelling, our predecessor do in fact lived a live that was far from being simple because most of our earlier predecessor in Nigeria where farmers who had to under arduous task ceaselessly on their farms in order to be able to feed their families. They had to work both under the sun and in the rain, some of get biting by snakes and scorpion and to aggravate the issue; they do have appropriate health facilities to tend to their needs in case of situation like these. Having privileged to utilize health facilities and our knowledge about the fatality of snake or scorpion bite, our opinion that our predecessors had it better would eventually be dispelled.

Secondly, the world is inundated with copious amount of precarious diseases and insidious plagues and everyone is predisposed to these diseases. We all at one point in time fell sick and we did not feel good about getting sick. We view infections, diseases and plagues as a challenge to good health and thank god for medical facilities that are available to render the time help we needed in order to bet our health restored. Although our health get restored with the availability of health facilities, it is not without its own intricacies such as the financial implication, the pain we feel, the uneasiness that comes with swallowing of drugs, the time and effort it takes to nurse the sick person back to health. All these pose a challenge to us as humans. We might think those where before had it better because they weren’t aware of these diseases and therefore, they were lucky because ignorance they say is bliss. In fact, in some part of Nigeria, our earlier predecessors think that diseases where punishments from the gods. A perfect example is the Corona Virus plague that ravaged the world recently. Due to the availability of medical facilities and trained medical personnel, we were able to provide a prompt response thereby averting a danger. If this same thing had happened during the era of our predecessors, it would t have resulted in a great massacre.

Finally, I aver to say the inexorable shift in technology which has led to advent of computers and other technological advancement has made life easier and thus making us manage our upheavals more effectively. We can now make us of electricity for our day to day activities, we can now travel the world due to availability of airplanes, and we can now send messages and receive responses with immediate alacrity and a lot more. Although some might argue that it takes time to learn and hone in your skills, especially when it boils down to handling machines and equipment. I will confidently say it is far less tasking to learn these operations than to live without their existence. In Nigeria our predecessors had to do their computation themselves, prepare their meals with firewood, and ambulate ceaselessly in other to cover long distances. They obviously didn’t it have better than us.

In conclusion, even though we are continually faced with a lot of upheaval, choices economic downturn and a lot more, they are part of what makes life more interesting and help develop us as humans. As we gain more knowledge and experiences, we become more knowledgeable that our predecessors did not have it better than us has we have believed, rather, different dispensation has different problems.