The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Editor of journal of environmental issues stated that the Crust Copper Company has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land for mining in West Fredonia which will be used for copper minning purposes and states that it would cost a devastating effect on indigenous habitat of several endangered animal species. Editor also states that if consumer stop using such products would be feasible solution for the same but does not provide and supporting evidence for it.

Considering the that CCC have bought 10,000 square miles of land it maybe be possible that they use only part of land for minning purposes whithout arrantly disturbing the natural habitat of the region. They can use part of land in which the endangered species of animals aren't found much. Or they might have plan for shifting these animals to more better place where they can survive freely.

Secondly, editor haven't taken into consideration that this minning could lead in development of the people living in West Fredonia, as it can provide livelihood to many families of workers there. Also it is possble that CCC, use proper processes for avoiding pollution happening in area due to minning. They can use new and advanced technologies to avoid hampering nature much and maintaining balance between both the environment there and minning activites.

Thirdly, solution provided by editor cannot be considered as appropriate as it is completely ignoring the root cause and working branches on of it. Consummers not using CCC products would hinder development and growth of CCC but it doesnt ensure that the endangered species would be safe after doing so. There still lies a chance that other minning company uses the same land for same or disparate purposes in a way harming the natural habitat.

The idea of not purchasing products of CCC brand in order to avoid the foreseeable danger of losing endangered species is flawed. Editor can seek help from local environmentalist and can also know more about the project plan of CCC to avoid dangers that it might cause to West of Fredonia animals and plants. Later can come up with even more viable solution that can achieve balance between both.