The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument mentioned states that Crust Copper Company is using the tropical lands of West Fredonia to mine copper. Since this land is a home to many endangered species, a concern has been put forward that the pollution arising from copper mining could result in environmental disasters. Hence the argument encourages consumers to avoid purchasing CCC’s product until they abandon mining in the tropical regions. This argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions which will be stated below.

Firstly, the argument has assumed without any proof that the company’s mining activities will lead to pollution inexorably. There was no inquiry into whether the company is following any rules and regulations to avoid pollution caused by copper mining. If the company were to be following protocols to avoid endangering the environment, there would be no concern regarding harming the species of these tropical lands.

Secondly, it is known that endangered species would be present in the tropical forests and not closer to the urban or suburban areas. The argument states that the company has bought 10,000 square miles of land in West Fredonia but no information has been provided as to where exactly in the area has the land been bought for mining. If the land was bought by the company in area which is far away from the tropical forests, the mining activities should not be disturbing the habitat of endangered species. Hence, argument could be bolstered by mentioning the exact location of where the land has been bought.

Lastly, the argument encourages consumers to stop buying CCC’s products until the company stops their mining activities in West Fredonia. But before making an assumption that consumers would indeed stop buying the copper produced by CCC, the market of copper needs to be studied. Do consumers have other various options in the market from where they could source copper? Are copper industries open to the idea of sourcing their raw material from other trusted sources? These questions need to be considered before considering that consumers would stop buying CCC’s material which would in turn avoid environmental disasters.

It can be concluded that there are ample number of scenarios to be considered before making the argument. Every assumption needs to be dwelled into and investigated completely prior to making a decision.