Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The most important role of developing a society is taken by educational institutions. That is the place where the citizens of a society explore themselves and start setting goals to achieve success in life. Educational institutions should always be those which encourage its students to reach their desired goals. Hence, the policy mentioned should not be implemented because an educational institution cannot make decisions for their students.

Students around the world are always judged by their marks. I would like to put forward that it is not always the marks of a student that determine their success. It is their inner talents which may not be shown through scores in an examination. An educational institution should never decide the future success of a student through their examinations conducted. For example, many educational institutions expect their students to use rote learning to get good scores. A student might be very knowledgeable but cannot remember an entire textbook word by word just for the sake of getting a good score. Therefore, whether such a student will achieve success or not should not be decided based on these examinations.

Students should always be given the freedom to pursue any field of study. It is the student’s responsibility to explore themselves and know what they want and where they want to be in their future. Once they take the time to know this, they will pick their field of interest. It is not the responsibility of an educational institution to decide whether the student is fit for that field. The responsibility of the educational institution is only to analyze the student and provide them the appropriate education needed for them to achieve success. These places of study should not discourage the students in achieving their life goals. It has to be the realization of the students themselves if they are likely to achieve success in their field of interest.

It can be argued that teachers have enough experience to know whether a student would reach success. This could be true that teachers have seen ample number of students to know whether the current student might fail. But it is also the responsibility of the very teacher polish the student into a diamond from a muddy stone. A teacher doing his/her duty well also determines whether the student achieves success.