The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock-and-roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. The switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will attract older listeners and secure KNOW radio's future."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument mentions that the future of KNOW radio station can be secured by shifting from rock and roll music to 24 hours news broadcast. It argues that the population that listens to the station has a maximum percentage of people above 50 years of age and also that the sale of recorded music has fallen. It tries to bolster the argument by also comparing the current location to a neighboring location where this strategy has been successful. This argument is based on many unwarranted assumptions which are elucidated below.

Firstly, it has been assumed that people above fifty years of age would be attracted more to news broadcasting rather than music. This has been specified by mentioning the increase in the number of people above fifty years old in the listening area. It cannot be assumed without conducting a survey of some sort to get information about the listening interests of the people in that area. If this assumption proves to be wrong, it would lead to the downfall of the radio station since there would be a smattering of listeners for 24 hour news broadcast.

Secondly, it has been mention in the argument that there has been a decrease in the sales of recorded music. This statement assumes that there is a decline in the number of people listening to music in that area. But it could also be true that listeners have found other modes of listening to music more economical than buying music from music stores. Before concluding the argument, it should also view data regarding the number of listeners it could retain of gain by moving to 24 hour news broadcast. Just the decline of music sales should not be a reasoning for a huge change for the radio station.

Lastly, it mentions that this strategy has been successful in neighboring cities. Before assuming that the response would be similar to that of neighboring cities, it should also take into account the population distribution of the neighboring cities and the taste of the listeners. It could be possible that there are drastic differences between the preferences of listeners in these cities. Hence, it cannot be assumed that continuous news broadcast would be a success since it was a success in a different location.

Therefore, the argument specified is based on many unwarranted assumptions which need to be dwelled into. Data should be collected regarding these assumptions and a final conclusion should be made after a good analysis of the collected data.