The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given letter, the faculty committee has recommended the president of Seatown University to consider instituting a fre-tuituin policy for its professor. The recommendation is based on the premise that a similar policy at nearby Oceania University reulted in higher faculty retention and such meaure to enhance the morale agong the faculty and luring new professors. The conclusion drawn by the committee might hold water, however, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Before we could evaluate the argument, the following peices of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

First, the committee compares the Seatown University to the Oceania University. Are they both even comparable? The author fails to furnish data to bolster his/her claim. There are plethora of parameters governing the status of a university. Data regarding rankings, student intake, funding, geographical locations, degrees and courses offered must be collected and analyzed. It is highly likely that these universities are not comparable if any of the above stated parameters are disparate. Unless the author provides this data, we cannot affirm that both these universities are comparable and there might be attributed to one, dosen't necessarily have to be true for latter. If either of the above has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the origianl argument does not hold water.

Furthermore, the committee expects that instituting such policy would invigorate morale among the faculty. However, fails to provide any evidence to prove the same. It is probable that there is not analogy between the morale and tuition fee waiver. We must be provided statistical data regarding what percentage of faculty have offsprings and more necessarily are enrolled in the same university. Also, it is mentioned that such measure would lure new professors. But it is not provided whether new prospective professors are needed in the university. We must be provided with the recent job openings to get a sense whether there are jobs to be taken up by new professor. It is highly likely that new professors are more concerned regarding their paychecks and the prospects of research in their field of interest rather than such lucrative policies. If the above is true, then the argument is weakend.

Finally, is Seatown University financially able to institute the free-tuituin policy? We need statistical data regarding the student intake, average tuition fee, funding from organizations, taxes leived and student-faculty ration to understant the economical status of both the universities. It is possible that the Oceania University is highly reputed private university attracting plenty of funding from the federal government, unlike Seatown University. Unless we are able to get access to such data, we cannot comment on whether such policy is feasible in Seatown university.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its relaince on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to address the peices of evidence demanded above then we can evaluate the viability of the recommendation.