It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

As they say, man is a social animal, it is critically important to be open and socialize. I disagree with the given proposition that it is more imperative to make new friends than to keep our older friends. I believe that it is equally important to make new friends as well as maintain strong ties with older ones. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, it is vital to socialize and connect with new people in our daily lives. Such networking and socializing have several benefits in various aspects such as official connections that would help us in our professional careers, or personal connections leading to new relationships. For instance, networking and making friends in the industry open many doors for employment opportunities, referrals, potential internships, etc. It can invariably affect our career and decide its due course.

Furthermore, it might be the case that we do not have such strong ties with old friends, which we used to have at some point in time. Perhaps, they might have migrated to another location or some conflicts might have brought a dent in the friendship. In such cases, not having new friends or lack of support might affect us adversely. Suppose, a person losses his friendship due to some misunderstanding and has no friends to share the grief, it is highly likely that he might run into depression, or consume drugs potentially deterring his health.

Finally, it is inherent human nature to socialize and make new relations. However, some people might be nurtured in a way, or have previous bad experiences which make them an introvert. Such people must strive to come out of the intangible bubble and mix, not limiting themselves to a small group. This would open their minds to new cultures, traditions, and habits. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I migrated abroad for my studies. I came across people from different regions. It changed my perspective which I previously had developed in my home country. I made friends from across the world and learned new languages, traditions, and cultures. This experience also helps me settle in a new country smoothly.

Thus, we can affirm that is equally vital to make new friends alongside keeping close ties with older ones. We must let ourselves exercise the inherent 'social animal' attribute freely.