The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. "Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter recommends investment in Consolidated Industries that sell oil as a major fuel for heating to inhabitant’s northeastern United States. The author believes the weather will get colder over the years and assumes new homes will use oil for their heating system. The letter emphasizes some unreliable evidence and assumption to encourage a client in investment. This evidence should be proved and some questions need to be answered to make them reasonable.

Firstly, in competitive marketing, it is unexpected how producers of modern heating systems haven't been known for lacking their products in that region’s markets. The letter hasn’t announced how many other firms of the region have investment in a modern heating system; they might run the heating system typically safer and more versatile. For example, Solar panel heating systems, gas heaters, and electric heaters. How much do they cost? If they are an effective way to reduce costly energy bills, the people will abound their tradition heating system and prefer modern energy to replace oil as a source of energy.

secondly, the letter claim many new homes have been built in this region during the past year, but it doesn’t say how many homes have been built, what kind of fuels have been used by home size, structure, and equipment. Building engineers might have used thick layers of different thermal insulation materials, window double glass, and parquet wood flooring for use with under floor heating in the buildings. So switching these improvements in building insulation and materials could help homeowners save more energy. they are Eco-friendly and clean too. In these circumstances, people might not buy oil any more or their oil consumption will decrease significantly.

Thirdly, the letter doesn’t present clear data about Consolidated Industries' financial status, number and percentage of shareholders and historical performance of share price. What percentage of that company has investment in the oil industry? By getting these details, people could decide more accurately. If the oil is a company major product, so they hope to be a major shareholder and achieve good returns in the future. The letter doesn’t provide a brief of key developments in the company such as whether Consolidated Industries has achieved the revenue target over the years. To ensure investment, the letter could have introduced the company site or any other official source that people could read annual financial statements for the last three years. Analyzing numbers from this statement help people to check the financial health of the company, understanding operations and management's view in various difficult economic conditions.

At the sum up, the letter probably can’t succeed a client because of incomplete Information. Without pay attention to the impact of modern heating systems and optimal analysis of the Consolidated Industries economic conditions can’t protect and guarantee shareholder's capital.