The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. "Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil".

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the firm who provides investment advice asserted that its client should invest in consolidated industries.To support this claim, the firm acknowledged the facts that northeastern regions are generally cold, forcasters of that region predicted same kind of extreme cold will be observed for several more years as it happened in last year and there have been a development of new homes in past years. Even if the assumptions may seem to be accurate at first, client should look into them in skeptical eyes and consider the gaps in those assumptions.

Firstly, the firm assumes that the prediction which is done by the forcasters are accurate, which can be wrong. As the forcasting is conducted by the local forcasters, there might be some lackings in equipment or infrustucture. The forcasting can not be taken in hand until it is validated. Moreover, forcastings are not always right about future. As it is about the weather, an exception from forcasting is pretty common. So, it cannot be said that this year would be as cold as last year based on that forecasting.

Secondly, the assumptions that the new homes will increase the demand of oil can also be wrong if the homes has another type of heating sysyem. For instance, if the new homes have built-in electrical heating system, oil would not be needed by those house owners.

Finally, the firm did not state where the factory will be situated. If the factory is situated in southern area, then the whole conclusion is in false assumptions. Furthermore, the firm stated that oil is one of the major business operations of consolidated industries. The question is, what are the other businesses? Those business, no matter how less significant they are, may become a drawback for the investor.

In sum, even if the firm has some potential points regarding the invest, the client should be look into the dreawback on the assumptions.