The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising"

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the director of Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that more budget will be allocated to the company's movie advertising department, the director arrives at this decision based on movie reviewers and percentage of positive reviews. As it stands the directors contention is valid, however, the arguement lies on three unwarranted assumptions that if not adressed properly drastically impede the credibility of the statement.

First of all, the director assumes that this year's fewer movie-goers is not an anomoly. It might be that, since there is a pandemic going on because of a virulent virus flue, more movie attendees prefer to watch movies at home in their television as it is safer and reduces the risk of infection to almost NIL. For example, a family wanted to watch Tom Cruise's new action film by the weekend, unfortunately they were hesitant to go outside with the sudden inflation of infection rate. Hence they insisted on watching the movie in their television, rather than commuting outside their house to an unsafe environment. If this case proves to be true, then it severly impacts the directors contention to allocate more budget to advertising.

Second of all, the director has assumed that the reviews given by these random people are accurate and the interview with these reviewers were conducted in a fair scientific approach. However, this might not be the case, What if the movie attendees were bribed to speak positively about the movie? When in reality the movie was sub-par. For example, the employee reporters might have wanted validation from their bosses and might have fabricated positive reviews from the disinterested crowd. In addition to that it might also be that the reporters who conducted the interviews did not conduct them in a scientifical manner, what if the reporters forgot to add the column of negative reviews when the final report was sent to the director? For example, there might have been a miscalcution or an operator error, where the person forgot to add the negative reviews that were present in the second part of the reporter's documentation, thus posing as very less negative reviews. If this either of these situation proves to be true, then the authors contention does not hold water.

Finally, the author assumes that if the reviews have reached the prospective viewers, there is a direct co-relation and the number of movie watchers will increase consequently. What if the prospective viewers genuinely didnt like this genre of film that Super Screen Movie Prodcution Company has released and would rather watch their interested movie domains? There might be no increase in movie attendees just because the prospective viewers have been advertised to. For example, if a person likes to watch only romantic or sci-fi based films, he/she would not want to waste their money on buying tickets to an action film, even if they are a prospective viewer the genre of movie they are interested in is pureply subjective.

To conclude, if the director wishes to bolster the validity of the argument, he must provide scientifically conducted results as answers to the questions mentioned. The case can proceed further, only after these questions are reasonably answered.