The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The world as we know it, has become extremely complex and sophisticated leaving no room for errors. As science and technology advances, the younger generation is forced to cope with the exponential growth and simultaneously learn new technical abilities. Nowadays, success is when your contribution to society to improve as a whole is more, you are more likely to earn more than others. The prompt wishes to edify this idea that younger generations must cooperate coalesced to grow rather than compete with one another. I strongly disagree with this prompt and I have two reasons why, although I do concede with the prompt in some cases.

First of all, as the world is getting more competitive the weak get weaker and the strong get stronger. This has been the primary foundation on which life on earth has been extant. For example, let us consider the open hunting grounds of Africa's desert, the lions wait almost two weeks to catch one buffalo for their momentary meal. If the lions fail to capture their prey, they are prone to starvation and ultimately this leads to fatality. On the other hand, things are similar for the buffalo or any other prey group as well, the herd needs water to quench in the hot deserted land. Water resources are scant across Africa and only a handful of places thrive with water. The herd is forced to cross the lions hunting ground in order to reach its destination. There are high possibilities that they fall prey to their higher predators. The lions target the young and weak for an easier meal. This type of situation is almost omnipresent across the world and applies to every aspect of life. The younger generation must compete with one another in order to assess and improve which fundamentals they are weak in, or they get left behind.

In addition to that, the world right now as we know it is very cruel. It doesn't have soft spots for people who are unable to catch up to the world's pace. Every employer and every employee is trying to satisfy the hierarchy chain. If you can't compete with your colleagues then you won't be forced to improve your skillset. You have to constantly put yourself in a field outside your comfort zone in order to improve. This can be understood with an easy example, let us assume that you are to learn a new language like German, all your friends know german and you are unable to comprehend their discussion because you are yet to learn the language. In order to develop social inclusion you must force yourself and put effort to learn German. If you fail to do so, you are prone to be left behind in conversations, leaving you feeling lost or disconnected. So I feel it is necessary to compete with your colleagues in order to improve.

Having said all this, there are some cases where co-operation among the young generation is fruitful. This can be understood with an example, if I were to learn a new programming language, instead of a learning competition with my friend if I learn the language together, then our negatives can be identified and pointed out by another quicker than if I were to learn the language myself. In situations like these copoperation among the youth is very helpful. The efficiency at which they can learn new things is rapidly increased.

To conclude, the weaker youth get left behind in this modern yet cruel world, they are forced to learn new things only by competing with one another in hope to flourish their skillset. Everyone in the world are trying to push boundaries to keep development existing. If you are not useful in todays employee market, then they pose no reason to hire you. However, there are cases where you have to co-operate with your friends or work-mates for constant and more efficient way of improving.