The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter claims that if someone wants to sell his house quickly and at a good price, he should use Adams Realty. In order to come to this conclusion the author makes several unwarranted assumptions in his argument such as comparing the real estate agents of Adams and Fitch, average revenue of the both as well as his personal experience with Adams. If the author does not provide further evidences regarding the following three assumptions, his conclusion stands unsubstantiated.

First, the author states that Adams has 40 real estate agents and Fitch has 25 and that many of the 25 work only part-time. The author assumes that the 40 Adams agents are hardworking and provide a greater net output than the Fitch agents. Perhaps, the 40 agents of Adams are lackadaisical and are not comparable to the 25 agents of Fitch. It is possible that even though many of the 25 agents work part-time, they provide a greater output and value than the Adams real estate agents. It is also possible that most of the 40 agents focus more on marketing their Realty and ‘trapping’ customers rather than focus on selling homes. If this the case, anyone who sells their home might get a greater value for their home if they use Fitch and not Adam. In fact, they might face a loss if they use Adams realty as per the claim of the author.

Second, the author cites average revenues of Adams’ -168000 and Fitch’s -144000 as reasons for why someone should use Adams and not Fitch. It is possible that Adams sold a majority of its houses at a less than average price, perhaps around 40000 and because of a fortuitous customer who paid a lot more than warranted the average increased to 168000. In contrast, Fitch might have sold their houses at a consistently high price right around the average of 144000. If that is the case, anyone might benefit more from using Fitch to sell their house. If they take the opinion of the author and instead chose Adams, they might lose a lot of money which might prove deleterious if they are in need of an immense amount of money. Thus the author’s conclusion does not hold water.

Third, the author provides his personal experience about how his house was sold faster as a result of Adams while when he used Fitch previously it took more than four months to sell. Perhaps the author was in dire need of money the second time he sold the house and did not care about how much value he could get most out of the house which is why he approached Adams in the first place. It is possible that the author received more value for his first house for which he used Fitch even though it took four months for Fitch to sell. Perhaps, the real estate agents of Fitch know the value of the house and hence waited for the right buyer to propose an accurate value for the house which is why it took four months. If they had found the buyer earlier, it is possible that the author need not have waited four months for his house to be sold. It is also possible that had the author used Adams the first time he would not have received as much as he received at Fitch. If that is the case, the agents of Fitch are more considerate than Adams and would help in finding the right buyer who would provide a better value for houses. Thus, the author’s proposition to use Adams instead of Fitch is inconsiderate and unwarranted.

In sum, the author does not provide sufficient support for his evidences, to suggest why anyone should use Adams and not Fitch Realty. The author should perhaps, give more evidences such as an accurate statistical data of both the realty with respect to the efficiency of the agents, the number of houses sold and at what price and also the prices of the houses he had sold using Adams and Fitch and what the Fitch realty agents would have prices the house he sold using Adams. The argument as it stands now is full of fallacies and unjustified.