Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt claims that governments should ensure that they provide financial support to major cities in order for them to thrive and the reason stated is that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved in cities. While I agree that governments should separate a major portion of their budget in the development of cities to improve their economy, they should not neglect the rural areas. And the reason stated to support the claim is not persuasive enough.

To begin with, the majority of a nation’s tradition is preserved in the rural areas of the country and not the cities. Cities are the hub of gatherings from most parts of the country and hence have people socializing from different cultures. Take the city of Bengaluru in India for instance. Bengaluru is the capital of the southern state Karnataka and is the ‘silicon valley’ of India. Equipped with start-ups left and right, the city boasts a population from various parts of the country. The question is, do traditions native to Karnataka, still exist in Bengaluru. It does exist among the natives of Karnataka living in Bengaluru but if we consider the demography of people from India in the city, we would notice that a majority of them are non-natives and hence the tradition lies with the natives in one corner of the city, figuratively. This does not mean the government should stop financially supporting the city. It is still one of the major cities from which a major portion of the gross domestic product(GDP) of the country is derived from.

Further, in order for the nation to preserve its cultural heritage it should instead invest in cultural centers in villages or museums that explain in detail the history of the place and the traditions or even support the preservation of cultural heritages, native to a particular place. For instance, take the temples in the south Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Temples have a huge cultural significance in the minds of the people in the country. There are numerous examples of pilgrimages taken by people every year. The temples were built as a place of worship but that is not its only purpose in the ancient times. It served as a convention center for people to share music, and also served as a building that would stand strong in the face of a natural disaster. There are examples in history about ancient people surviving a tsunami because the temple was built at a height that proved the tsunami useless. Moreover, the walls of the temple have ancient history inscribed by the visionaries of their time to prevent the loss of knowledge in the passing generations. These facts established by archaeologists and historians not only promote the temple culture but also result in the people taking pride in them. The government financially supporting the preservation of temples would not only preserve the native culture but also increase the influx of tourists both ‘home’ and ‘away’. This would not only enable the people to practice those traditions but could also boost them in taking part in culture preservation activities. The GDP of the government would also increase while preserving culture and as a result the government could spend more on providing to the people and make the nation and its people thrive.

In conclusion, in order for the nation to thrive, it is not only necessary for the government to invest in the major cities but also focus on the smaller rural areas. The country and its people should grow together as a unified whole in preserving cultures as well as increasing the economic output of the country.