The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner in his letter to his friend argues that Adam Realty is much better real estate firm than Fitch Reality. He suggests his friend to approach Adam Realty for selling house faster and at good price. He provides several arguments to explain his conclusion in his letter. However, these arguments in themselves lack details and rely on some assumptions.

The author of the letter states that one of the reason why he considers Adam Realty to be a superior firm is that it has more number of real estate agents in comparison to Fitch Reality. However, this is a big assumption that number of agents is an important factor in determining the quality of any real estate firm.

It may be that agents of Fitch Reality are much more efficient and provide better quality of service in comparison to the agents of Adam Realty. So it is important to compare the quality of agents in both firm and number alone wont tell the whole story.

His second argument in favor of Adam Realty firm is that its last year revenue was greater than Fitch Realty. But this is also an incomplete information to judge the quality of the firm. Firstly the difference in revenue not a lot, only about 10 percent. And judging any firm's quality on the basis of its revenue in one given year is very wrong. One year is a very short period to draw any big conclusions, and real estate business being very unpredictable, its common to have low revenue some times even of the firm is very good. So it may be better to look at revenue output of the two firms over a period of say five years to draw more reliable conclusions.

Lastly the author gives his own experince as an example to sugest that Adam Realty is better firm. His experience being that he had reached both the firms for selling his home, and Adam Realty was much more quick and efficient in selling the house. However the important thing to address in this example is that he had provided both the firms with different home. So it is possible that the home provided to Adam Realty was much more lucerative than the other and hence was easy to sell. As its apparent, the value of any house is assessed on a variety of factors, and without knowing these factors of the houses mentioned by the author, it is not possible to asses the realtive quality of the two houses. Without knowing for sure if the houses were comparable, its not possible to say weather selling one house more effeciently is a sign of good estate firm.

So based on the above points, it is safe to say that the authors argument as it stands now is flawed. His argument can be taken much more seriously if he provides more details and facts on the questions raised by the above paragraphs.