Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

It is rightly said that nature is our greatest resource and hence we should treat it as such. We, however, see often this resource being neglected in the name of development and industrialisation. Hence I strongly agree with the stance that nations should pass a law to preserve remaining wilderness areas and save this resource before it is lost forever.

A recent study has shown that due to depleting forests and natural habitats, more and more animals are leaving home and entring human establishments. Many reports of a sighting of dangerous predators in cities that have been established by eradicating some form of natural habitats have been growing rapidly. These sightings are often accompanied by some form of casualty or others. It is not the fault of these animals as they are left with the little place of their own and are often forced to enter the human establishments in search of food.

Even if the above seems insignificant, there is a far greater consequence of depleting wildlife and forests. We do not realise how much we depend on nature and wilderness for our own survival and we have started taking it for granted. Even the smallest disturbance in nature can have huge impacts. One of the major drivers of global warming is said to be the diminishing of forests.

And global warming is not something to be taken lightly. Global warming is already adversely affecting our season cycle. Not only that, summers are getting hotter, and winters are getting colder each year because of global warming. If we fail to check global warming in time, we may reach a point of no return, where our planet gets converted into a desert eventually, and humankind starts facing a threat of extinction due to shortage of food and water.

Hence before it gets too late, it is imperative to pass this law to ensure whatever wilderness and forests are left are preserved. This will not only help to preserve the natural habitats of the animals but also give us a better fighting chance against global warming.

People who differ from this opinion may argue that we cannot ignore the contribution of development and industrialisation in the betterment of our lifestyle, and hence this law is against improvements in human lifestyle. To these people I would say, isn't there other ways to improve human lifestyle that donot involve eradication of forests and wilderness, thus threatening the human existence? I would argue there are plentiful.