Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like

smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and

relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around

them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Social skills are developed by engaging with people in the real world. This is a fact. However, the generation of today has got highly influenced by the latest technologies and the available range of portable devices. Connecting with new people, in the present scenario, is generally done on the smartphones. These little rectangular modules as light as a pocket diary can serve us with anything we demand. People can find filters that make them look good. They can also find directions for a particular location without communicating with a human. They can order food from home instead of going out to the restaurants. There is nothing left that one can’t do from their smartphones or tablets or any other portable devices for that matter.

The only side effect of these efficient, task-simplifying gadget is the lack of social skills it is enunciating. It is not the last adverse effect but it certainly is not the least of all. The only way one can learn to behave in the real world is by participating in the real world. But these devices have given every individual to re-invent themselves. Let me explain. I know its not a bad thing to re-invent oneself. Though the scenario I’m emphasizing on is completely different in context. People are not actually implementing any changes in their real life. They are not even thinking about it. They are just inventing a whole new identity that the world would love or in some cases they would love to become. They are all taking the “fake it till you make it” quote quite seriously but let me tell you this. They might never make it.

This is leading to development of artificial personalities. It doesn’t sound so bad and dangerous but trust me, it’s the worst. I mean who would want to live in the world of fake people. Just look at our ancestors. They never had such technology. They might have faced a few difficulties in life but they were all united. They survived. And might I add, they lived much better lives than our toxic routine life revolving around these portable devices.

yes, young people need to socialize. But does it have to be online? No! we all have a real life. Not everyone out there has at least one friend. I know it’s bad out there. But we are to be blamed for creating such situation in the first place. I know it is easy to pretend. With all the features available on these devices including smartphones and tablets, we can live our life as perfectly as we want. But one day, you will realize what just happened. You will realize that you had your chance at life, a chance to build yourself as a human on this heavenly planet. And you let it go. Your whole life will flash in front of your eyes. You will realize that even if you may have millions of dollars, you still may not be satisfied with life since you have no true friends to count on. And I just want us all to realize these cold hard truths sooner rather than later.