The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville

High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have

involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have

complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other

instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although

there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford

to pay for driving instruction. Therefore, an effective and mandatory program

sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of

the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions

and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

unwarranted.

As an analysis of the argument presented by the school board of CenterVIlle, there are a certain things i would like to elicit so that we can come up with a more learned solution for the teenage driving problem in CenterVille and also highlight the flaws and ammendments we can make in the current argument.

Firstly we do not know the exact impact of the accidents due to teenage driving and further how many of those drivers have actually atteneded a driving school. There might be a case where most of these drivers are already learned but yet made a mistake due to bad junctions, traffic rules and the delapidated road conditions. We can also argue that the license issuing offices can be more stricter so as to screen out the bad drivers. Also teens without any licenses can be given much harsher penalties which might instill fear in their minds and refrain them from driving vehicle without license.

Secondly there might be a case that the number of teenage driver is in itself very less and thus making this a compulsory programme might forced parents to actually buy a car for their kids. We need better number analysis so as to make such a programme compulsory in the school. Less numbers also highlight that most of the teenagers are interested in driving itself.

Thirdly there is no guarentee that even after getting proper lessons for driving a teenager is not bound to make a mistake, there might be a case where more of these hot blooded folks are driving and the cases of such ccidents might increase. We can provide cheaper driving classes which are open for all the kids who are interested.

Further the use of the word only solution also might be questionable as there can be many other ways such as restrict the age of driving itself to 20 and hence the teenagers shall not be allowed to drive. We can come up with more such solutions.

Lastly the term safe drivers is very vague. At what point of instruction can you confirm that a driver is safe. There has to be more of a criteria so as to determine the skill level in driving.

Thus with the above arguments I would like to bring in the light the flaws and the potential assumptions in the above arguments and also some ammendments which can make it better.