The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that

specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold,

have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that

region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate

forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years.

Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent

population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region

will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in

order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are

reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to

evaluate the prediction

The following argument says that the demand of the heating oil shall experience an increase in the next upcoming five years since it is the major source of fuel for the heating purposes. Further, the growing population , worsening climates and below-normal temperatures based on the weather forecast are the opther factors that buttress the argument. However there are certain flaws in the argument which I would like to elicit.

Firstly, it is wrong to assume that the heating oil will be the only source of fuel in the upcoming five years. With growing research and the inventions we never know when there might be a better fuel which is more efficient ultimately making heating oil obsolete. Things change and with that the prefernces, one might resort to electricity for heating purposes.

Secondly, assuming based on a single forecast that the weather conditions are bound to remain the same is also questionable. We might require more forecasts and steady reports that the climate is going to worsen thereby increasing the demand of heating oil. And if it reaches a point where even the heating oil wont help then we might have another situation on our hands.

Thirdly, it is wrong to assume that it was the climate responsible for the increase in the sales of oil. There can be some other reason as well which might have led to this increase. We need much more surveys and inquiries regarding how people are using the oil.

Further I totally agree with the fact that population is rising however wiothout any numbers this becomes a vague statement. It is also wrong to assume that even with the exacerbating climate, people will continue to live in the region. They might consider relocating as well.Moreover, there is also a limit to the number of houses which can be built, if it is already at its maximum, we can forget about the increase in sales due to population increase. One can also question the reason for this claim since it is stated that the population just started rising recently and their is no proof that it shall keep rising for the next five years.

Therefore with the constant threat of substitution, lacking numbers and surveys, more stringent weather reports and without a scrutinised survey reagrding the usage of oil, it is not safe to assume that the demand of the oil shall be increase for the next five years.