Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather

than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which

adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how

these examples shape your position.

In an ideal situation it is true that precaution is always better than cure and hence one would seem to prefer avoiding the foreseeable problem but in a practical view I strongly feel that the government should focus solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the anticipated problems of tommorow. Countries as of now are always tackling and ridden with monsters in the form of hunger, poverty, unemployment, poor health facilities and manymore and hence they should focus more on these existing problems rather than worrying about some unforeseen activity.

Any country when ranked in terms of development is always questioned regarding the problems it is currently facing. Poverty index, hunger index etc were all created so as to make sure countries are focussed on their path of development. It is the job of the government to ensure this.

Firstly, playing the game of probablity and allocating funds and resources for an event which has not occured yet might backfire since people are already suffering from the existing problems. It is important to justify the usage of these resources since the entire idea of the government is to ensure that the people are happy and if not they shall not be elected for the next tenure. One can think of the military expenditure as an example. It is true that a country must work for its defenses anticiapting a future war, however in the 21st century we are all aware of its devastations and hence war is almost out of question. Certain countires like Canada have no military itself and are allocating its entire funds to health care and to erradicate poverty and are performing very well

We can also think about the investments made by US in afghanistan, Iran etc. to make sure that in future there is no dictatorship,threat of nuclear weapons and a proper democracy there but its own country revolted against the decision since people were not satiated with the extreme budget being used for making sure that such future threats which might and might not happen. There are larger problems like unemployment, worsening climatic conditions, homelessness and inflation which needs much more focus there currently.

Further it should be kept in mind that something which is being anticipated by someone might not even be the prime concern of the others. The judgement of how good a government is performing lies in the hands of people and if something is being anticipated by the whole country, it no longer is a problem of future. Every government has a fixed tenure and it should more likely focus on problems which the people are struggling with currently since thats the whole notion behind choosing a government is to deal with those problems.

Again iterating and still not denying that precaution is always better than cure but curing the existing problems always takes priority. Thus with the above examples and points I would like to conclude that if the anticipations are right, the problem is no longer of the future and will have to be tackled and is understood by the people. Moreover, we can always hold a justified set of resources for any unforeseen situations. Thus the key to a great government is the right allocation and emphasis on the right problems making sure that they justify their decision and to the people who elected them.