Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside

the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the

most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your

position.

Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the field of study and I strongly agree with the issue. There can be many aspects like interest, stress, recess and the a latent talent which the student might discover while his tenure in the universities. Let us have an in depth analysis of the issue.

Firstly a student might enroll in a particular course out of sheer interest or due unavailability of any other ones on the basis of their merit. They might end up discovering other interests while their interactions with other students pursuing various other courses. Compelling them to study only the courses in their respective field might devoid them from going after what they actually like.

Secondly, with the amount of time each student has in the college, they might also end up choosing courses not pertaining to thier field as a part of break from their own study. One might feel bored and need a change in the environment for relaxation and hence choose something which they always liked but cant make a carteer out of it. It might act as a major stress buster for them infact helping them concentrate more on their course.

Further there might be a case where the industry might be shifting towards a new era where some course might hold more importance to the career than others. Limiting students to their courses makes them incapable of running in this race itself. In this ever evolving world, having a constant handbook seems more of a restriction on education than a clear path.There have been many inventions such as science students when also attending music classes end up inventing music science which would have have been possible if students were not exposed to the respective courses.

Lastly education has always been a personalised matter. And the tenure might be a year, two or three and one can never be sure that they wont digress from their field losing interest or realising that the field has no place for them. For such students exploring other fields is very essential to avoid depression and struggle leading to unfortunate circumstances. Thus we cant delimit the courses a student might choose. However we can have a varied priority for who gets to attend which class and with a good pool of course, students can explore and make sure they find the best classes that fir aptly with their own interests.

Thus as a university I believe it should focus on giving the students as much freedom possible so as to decide their future and career and develop their interests and hence not restrict them to their respective courses.