The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The budget planner for the city of Grandview concludes that the symphony has now successfully found an audience for itself and that the city can stop it's funding for them. The budget planner suggests this based on evidences like two years ago, the symphony took onboard an conductor who has been known to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with them. Also, since then the private contribution has trippled and attendance of guests has reached a record high. The conclusion to be stated cogent the following 3 assumptions have to elucidated first.

Firstly, the planner states that the symphony hired a known conductor two years ago. The conductor has been able to get high-profile guest musician to perform with the symphony. The budget planner assumes that since two years ago, the conductor was able to get renouned artists to perform with the symphony, is going to stay like this forever. To illustrate this, consider a situation where 2 years ago the artists were available and hence agreed for the gig. But now there is a possibilty that the artists have their own tours, a tight schedule and the conductor is unable to arrange an artist to perform with the symphony.

Secondly, it is stated that the private contributions to the symphony has trippled. Here, the planner is assuming that "trippling" of the private contribution is propitious. But we don't know what the earlier contributions were. For instance, it could so be the case that earlier, the symphony had an almost non-existent private contribution. Also a possibilty of the contribution via families trying ot support their children associated to the symphony cannot be ruled out.

Lastly, it is given that the attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached records high. The budget planner assumes that attendance reaching record-high is a good sign of selfsustaining. But here we need reference to the prior attendance of their concerts. For examples, earlier there were 5 audience and now there are 20 coming to the concert. Although there is some increase in the number, such trivial numbers for a concert cannot help in becoming self-sustained. Also, the outdoor summer concert seeing many audience, makes the planner assume that all season concerts are going to be very will favourable. There is a possibility that the winter outdoor concert is not as fortuitous as the summer one.

Therefore, the conclusion of stoppping the funding to symphony by the budegt planner of the city Grandview is flawed. We need more comprehensive and quantitative evidences for the above assumptions been drawn by the planner. Only after a comprehensive view a pragmatic conclusion can be drawn.