Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is concluded that roller skaters can greatly reduce their risk of being hurt severely by investing in good quality protective gears and reflective equipments. This conclusion is based on evidences like the hospital statistics of people going to emergency room after roller-skating accidents shows the need for more protective equipement. And also the statistics of a group of people indicate that 75 percent of those who had accident in street or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing etc. To state if this conclusion is cogent, the following 3 assumptions need to be answered first.

Firstly, it is stated that a hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Here, it there is no detailed information about the statistics. The statisics might have considered only one month's data. For instance, statistics can be done weekly, monthly or yearly. It is assumed here that is statistics is thorough. But we don't know that yet. Also, there could be a possibilty that in the statistical data the hospital might had seen 3-4 or little more emergency roller skate incidents and thus the assumption was made. Thus, we will needing more evidence on how and what all parameters were considered in the statistics.

Secondly, there is a mention of another statistics stating 75% of those who had accidents weren't wearing any protective equipments. The statistics is carried out within a group of people. There can be a possibility here that the group of people selected is very biased. For instance, suppose a survey is carried whether people like Taylor Swift or Katy Perry. In this, there can be a case where the survey being taken by more of TS fans than Katy Perry fans. Thus yielding a bias result. Just like that in this statistic there is a possibility of majority of people being in an accident without precautions equipments.

In addition to above, the group of people needs to be quantitatively defined. For example, out of 10 people, 7 love mangoes. Some quantitatve measure needs to be specified. It is assumed that a group of people means many number of people. But a group can be anything ranging from 3 to 3000. We don't specifically know if a small or large group is being referenced.

Therefore, the conclusion of lowering accidental risks of roller skater by investing in good quality protective accessories is in itself flawed. More evidence is needed to come to proper conclusion. In addition to the evidence required for the above mention assumptions, other evidences are helpful in proving the cogency of the conclusion.