A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A nation is an embodiment of its people, it is the people who represent and dictate the flow of events in a nation. Ultimately it is the education that is provided to the citizens that shape a nation. The prompt here suggests that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. I strongly agree with the prompt for mainly three reasons.

Firstly, students don't become adults until they reach college where they are free to make their own decisions in life and do whatever suits them the best. So, the artlessness of the students is a factor which makes the curriculum to even out best for all. For instance, when a kid is about 14 years old they don't know what they really want to do and also what all there is to do. It would be just the kids throwing darts trying to randomly hit the bullseye. Also, It becomes the job of the more matured and defined adults to lead the way for these younglings. If we think about it the only way we can make this problem go away is by providing a predefined path that everyone has to follow until they come of age when they realize what they want to do.

Secondly, When a nation has a common national curriculum it becomes a lot easier to make assessments of the students. As ultimately, everyone is studying the same thing so the probability of somebody saying that it was unfair to choose somebody over them gets eliminated. For example, In a country like China where there are over a billion people and about 2-fifths of the population are kids, How can somebody asses so many different kids on different factors. It is borderline impossible. Whereas, if we have an established system that dictates that everyone study the same thing for a certain period of time this problem vanishes. It is also a lot easier for students as they don't have to break their heads thinking over what to do.

Finally, If we were to give the responsibility of choosing what a student wants to do at a very early age most of them would fail. This applies to the majority of the kids as they wouldn't really know anything about what is good for them and what is not. If we think about it for the majority of the part it would be the parents deciding what is best for their kid and not the kid himself. For example,not everyone has the same economic status in society as there are people who are rich and people who are poor. This directly relates to the amount of influence one has, which would mean that the people that are better off will be able to choose better choices for their kids and the others will be deprived of it as they don't really know what is good and what is bad. To eliminate this inequality an even curriculum is a good step

Although some would argue that making students follow the same curriculum is taking away their freedom and choice to make their own decisions. We can discount this fact by stating that the ability to make decisions is something that comes with age and at an early age no one is perfect. In fact on the contrary there would be a lot more regrets and mistakes that this freedom will breed. So, what the prompt states here is correct and an even curriculum should be assigned to all the students of a country untill they reach college.