The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College has optimistically derived conclusion to building new dormitories. Director presented several reasons why the new dormitories should be built but as they are filled with holes and assumptions it is not cogent. The observations director stated in the memo are not typically derives to the conclusion to build new dormitories.

First of all, it is true that enrollment for the college is increasing rapidly but currently they have sufficient dormitories for the students. It is not mentioned that there is shortage of the dormitories on the current basis, otherwise it was convincing that the need of dormitories is urgency. Lon term planning is good but not to the extent that you end up thinking about the scenario after 50 years. 50 years a very long duration to make about the rapidly increasing students' enrollment in college. We can't assume that the after 50 years the students will definitely increase and dormitories will be insufficient.

Moving ahead, the argument states that average rent for apartment has risen in recent years. How can we assume that the college is situated in town? It is also possible that it is situated outside the town. So that clearly won't affect the students of the Buckingham college.The location of the college is not stated. it is also possible that students prefer to have off-campus apartment not dormitory provided by Buckingham college. This dismiss the assumption that the more enrollment in college is tantamount to more requirement for dormitories. Other than that, there my be several other reasons possible for increasing rates of the apartments. Those reasons be like, increasing population in the town, immigration of people to the town as town has various attractive qualities, high construction and maintaining cost etc. It is not stated the firm reason for the situation happening.

Continuing with, there is nowhere mentioned that which type of students are being enrolled in the Buckingham college, it is possible that the student those are enrolling in the Buckingham college has a rich financial background. Thus for them there is not a big deal to afford a off-campus house. Lastly, in major cases the academic value that matters to attract students not the dormitories. If the Buckingham College is significant academic performance then the students will be ready to bear any hurdles for getting the best education. The comfort won't affect them. Even if Buckingham is local college then also the new dormitories won't be the attractive quality.

In conclusion, I would like to say that there the director made trivial arguments to reach up to conclusion. The weak flaws are not at all helpful to provide convincing to reader. Due to the lack of statistical data and proper links among the points the argument fails to make a proper decision.