The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of the students housing claims that the college should increase the in-campus accommodation, as there is an expectation that the number of students admitted to the Buckingham College will increase in coming years and over flow the existing dormitory space. However, the Directors plan is weak due to the following reasons three reasons and does not hold water until substantiated with additional information.

Firstly, the Director assumes that all the students who will be enrolling in the coming years are outsiders and do not have a house in the town where the college resides. It may be so that the students who are will be seeking admission in coming years are locals, and have their owns house and need not have to look for accommodation in campus. Furthermore, the students who are willing to seek admission in Buckingham from outside of the town may also own the house near-by college premises. If, the aforementioned cases are true, then the Directs plan will go in futile.

Secondly, the prompt says that the owners levy exorbitant rent to the customers and therefore the students will opt for dormitories instead. However, what if the students still prefer to live in the apartments despite the heavy rental prices. It might be that the students are from aristocratic family and prefer to live in isolation and have their own privacy instead of living in the dorms where they get least such facilities and are frequently interrupted by other students. Despite, they try to maintain strict discipline in dorms, there could be some students who still violate the rules and try intervene in their neighbor student’ matters. In such cases, it is expected that the students who can afford the high rents will prefer living in apartments, rather than living in dorms.

Finally, Director says that new dorms works as advertisement to attract new students for admissions. However, the main reason a student enroll in a college is not by looking at the dorms but by the quality of education. As time pass by, it may so happen that there will be new private dorms coming up in the neighborhood, which are affordable by any students, and the Buckingham dorms are then left unoccupied. By considering these cases, the argument that the new dorms will attract high-class students is weakened.

In conclusion, the Director should conduct the survey of the students currently admitted and of the students while enrolling and record their preferences. The college should also furnish information about the apartment available in town as to what facilities they provide and what they do not, and try including those additional facilities which the apartment doesn’t give. This above information is needed to make the argument more robust in its stands.