The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

"Five years ago Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent after their ads began appearing in the magazine. The three Fish Emporium stores in Gulf City saw an even greater increase than that. Because Top Dog Pet Stores is based in Gulf City, it seems clear that we should start placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores optimistically concludes that by providing advertisement on Exotic Pets Monthly can accelerate their sales as well as they can start making profit again. For reaching toward such conclusion we are provided by analysis which is increased sales of fishes. The given information has certain flaws and it is based on certain assumptions thus not sufficient to reach to conclusion.

First, the comparison is made between sales of fishes and dogs. How come the popularity of both these species is comparible? the assumption stands as the sales of their is comparable. Apart from that, the advertisement provided in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly was started by Fish Emporium fice years ago and it states that the increase is by 15%. It clealy shows that the incresing sales is a long term progress. It is not fast as the marketing director thinks. Increase can take its own time, it can take 2 years or it may take 10 years as well. We don't know which one of these can happen in case of Dog Pet stores. Considering statistical data, we dont know that that sale is increased from 0% to 15% or from 40% to 55%. This is not reliable point.

Secondly, it is possible that there may be other reasons why the sales of dogs is decreased. By just providing the attractive advertisement sales can not be increased. The assumption made is that quality of dogs is not degraded. Whereas in the past years the quality of the dogs was perfect as demand of the customers. The degradation in the quality may be reason or increasing interest of people towards fish be the main reason for the recent trend of declined sales of dogs.

Moving ahead, gulf city has been most benificial by advertise of fishes in Exotic Pets Monthly that clearly don't show that it will provide such good results for sales of dogs also. We can not rely upon this assumption to reach up to conclution. It is possble that the people of gulf city had predilection for fishes rather than dogs. It is not possible that the people of gulf city will start liking dogs by seeing them in ads of Exotic Pets Monthly. Other than that there are several other ways possible which may neglected by the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores.

In the end, argument is inconvincing as it stands. More data and strong arguments could have been made to reach to the conclusion. The statisicial data could be added to make argument more powerful. Thus, the presented argument is not satisfactory as it lacks some necessary things.