The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo from the new vice president of the company that manufactures men's clothing claims that they should resume production of alpaca overcoats as they have found a new reliable fabric supplier and assumes that people would be interested in buying them at higher costs leading to the company's profit. While concluding this in the memo, no strong evidence is provided to back up these claims by the vice president. Perhaps if these assumptions are not substantiated with strong evidence it won't lead to the company's profit it may turn another way around.

Firstly, the vice president assumes that the new supplier is supplying good quality of fabrics than the previous supplier. However, the new fabric supplier may be supplying equitable quality only as that of the previous one or might have sent a sample of good quality than actual raw material. There are no firm reports provided on which basis the fabric quality was tested and was found to be better. It is also possible that good quality is commensurated with greater price. How is the quality of fabric better than the previous supplier? remains unanswered and severely weakens the author's claim.

Secondly, the company stopped production of alpaca overcoats over five years ago and the author still assumes that people would buy it, backing up by evidence that their competitors have also stopped production of the same. Perhaps, it might be the case that competitors of the company stopped production of these overcoats because people no longer invest in them. As we all know fashion is always fleeting it changes from time to time. Considering people would still choose to buy the alpaca overcoats will be overly optimistic. If there is no evidence found for people being interested in the product would greatly affect the vice president's claims for restarting the production of alpaca overcoats.

Additionally, the author assumes that people would be willing to pay higher costs for the product considering the inflation. However, there is no verification done for the same. People may be expecting the same or lower prices for the alpaca overcoats as their production was stopped long ago, and consider this to be its relaunch providing them the opportunity to buy them at lower prices. If this happens company would be incurring a loss instead of a profit. So assuming that people would consider buying alpaca overcoats at higher prices does not reciprocate that company will be in profit.

In conclusion, the vice president might have thought of this state as a profitable one and optimistically concluded in the memo to resume production of alpaca coats as they found a new supplier. If the above-mentioned questions remain unanswered then the claim made by the vice president can be found unwarranted to be true. This might be the right opportunity for the company to bring back their alpaca coats in production only after doing more research and planning it.