In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports swimming boating and fishing among their favorite recreational activities The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits however and the city park department devotes little of i

In the argument given above, there are four Assumptions. First stated assumption is that the state is going to devote more money for cleanup of the river as announced. Another unstated assumption is that the river is going to be clean as planned after allocation of budget. Third assumption is stated as “cleaning of the river will attract city dwellers to use river for water increased.” Fourth unstated assumption is that increased flow of city dwellers for recreational activities will demand more funding from government.

I cannot agree completely with the first assumption. We have seen governments stating their plans in big words and working a little if the concern is about environment. Furthermore, some governments are seen working a little and advertising the activity to the maximum possible in order to get credit. My concern regarding second assumption is that the government is not seem to propose a concrete plan for sewage and floodwater disposal. Lack of solid proposal for managing source of contamination of river means that even if the river is going to be clean, waste is going to be added to the same river, and hence river is not going to be clean. Another concern regarding this statement is that any river is not going to be clean and suitable for water sports overnight even if measures are followed against these concerns. This may take few years for rivers to get rid of sewage stored in riverbed and be clean. Thus, this assumption seems fallacious and devoid of any solid support.

Third assumption is that cleaning of river will attract city dwellers for the recreational activities overnight. But it is not going to be so. Even if the river is clean after several efforts, the dwellers are going to have old image of river, dirty and foul smelling. This will prevent the city dwellers to stop coming to the river for recreational activities for few years. Further, even though the city residents have rated water sports as their favourite sport, it is not necessary that they are coming for these activities. Sometimes, people who have seen some form of sports far away from their homeland may keep those activities as their hubby but always fear or hesistate to achieve those hubbies. Maybe water sports is one of such activity for those city residents. Fourth assumption is going to be fallacious if private sector is attracted for business possibilities in water activities and fund may not be needed. Though fallacious, this condition is better than the condition in which fund is needed. However, involvement of private sector may need legislative activities by city government regarding water activities. Under these conditions, authors argument is going to prove unwarranted.

In case the first argument prove unwarranted, the city government should allocate funds first to clean the water in the river. In second argument proves unwarranted, state should plan multiple projects to clean water in the river, prevent mixing of sewage and floodwater to the river simultaneously to achieve goals. In case third argument proves unwarranted, state and city government should make plans to attract residents towards water. Private sector can also be attracted for business possibilities in such activities. And at last, there is no implication if fourth assumption is going to be unwarranted since this condition is going to be better than if the assumption is warranted.