Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men an

The opinion mentioned in editor of national aeronautics magazine stressing needs of investment in unmanned space flight seems legit. However, this statement depends on various assumptions and while these assumptions are proven unwarranted, may prove the conclusion fallacious.

First and foremost, it is assumed that data collected from unmanned space flight is of almost similar to quality and quantity to that collected from manned space flight. Yes, various studies have shown that unmanned space probes and satellites provide a great deal of useful information. however, this cannot assure that the information is as complete as that sent by manned spaceship. If this assumption proves unwarranted, author can be misguied about the additional benefits that can be achieved from manned missions and their marginal costs, and hence the conclusion can be fallacious.

Another assumption made by author is that manned mission are really costly and unmanned mission is really cheap. But manned mission does not necessarily mean the cost of production will be much higher that unmanned mission. and unmanned mission does not neccessarily mean cheaper. Logistics, equipments and automated systems associated with unmanned mission can prove manned mission in fact less costlier than unmanned mission and this is not included in the argument.

Further, the author considers that the risks will be higher for manned mission. Even this assumption is not necessarily true. Yes, there will be risks, but the risks are not necessarily inevitable and it is not impossible to decrease those risks. risks should first be calculated, methods to decrease these risks should be analyzed and hence plan should be implemented to make this risk bare minimum.

Last but not the least, author fails to consider that our ultimate goal of space missions and plans is to establish humanity outside of our solar system. Yes, it may take decades, centuries or even millinea before we can put our step in exoplanets and even more time to establish humanity there, these missions are not necessarily mean impossible. to envision this far seen dream, we have to make humanity habituated to space and manned mission are necessary to make ourselves accostumed to space colonization.

In this way, major assumptions made by author to reach the conclusion and the possible results of unwaranted conclusion is mentioned as above. The author is supposed to consider these factors much more rigorously before concluding.