Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one s ability to relate and connect to other people Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that comm

Ability to relate things and connect with other people is one of the unique capacity of human being. It is our voluminous brain that fortifies us with this superpower and this superpower is one among various differences that allows human being to rule this planet we call home. It is still a matter of debate whether this capacity is developed by travelling and living in different places or by living in a single place, performing deep study of the community. Though living in same place and performing deep study seems convincincing way of understanding our community, it is travel and interaction with different communities that bolsters our abilities to connect to other people. This is obvious for following reasons:

First and foremost, understanding variable values, norms and morals allows travellers to connect with new people faster. Travelling and living in multiple places allows us to come in contact with various people. These people have unique norms, values, morals and ways of life, which separates their community from neighbouring societies. Being able to understand and analyze these differences empowers traveller to easily understand needs, interests and views of next community, sometimes even before talking to them. And, understanding each other is the very first step to relating and connecting to other people. Thus, travellers take comparitively less time to connect with new people.

Further, Travellers are better adapted to changed environment compared to residents. Travellers have lived in variety of conditions during their travel. They have lived from clean to dirty, cold to warm, humid to dry and comfortable to less comfortable environments during their journey. They have spent many nights without a penny and spent other nights spending thousands of dollars. This variable lifestyle and living environment renders travellers with unique ability to adapt easily to changed environment, and as we know, everyone is connected to those who are easily adapted to their environment, allowing travellers to better connect with various people.

While it seems that deeper study helps us understand variation inside the communities and better understand it, Being closer to large number people is what drives us towards understanding of variation among and between communities. This understanding is the way one person is connected to another. Thus, for abovementioned reasons, travelling and living in multiple places is supporting to relating and connecting ability.