The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement a

Definitions of a great state and a not so great state have been a matter of controversies and contradiction since the time immemorial. There was a time when king or emperor was almost synonymous to the whole nation. presence of a great emperor or a brave warrior was sufficient to declare a nation as a great nation. On the other hand, a nation without charismatic emperor was considered as less powerful or less great nation. However, this definition has gradually lost its veracity over time, giving place to development of science and art as a measure of greatness of a nation. Now a days, citizens are considered as a definition of a nation. Hence, happy citizens refers to a great nation. I agree that welfare of its people is considered as a measure of greatness of a nation.

First and foremost, we must aknowledge that citizens are true representative of a nation. This is a democratic idea. In sovereign states, public has power to select their government and formulate required legislation. In this scenario, public should be considered as a harbinger, indicating greatness or weakness of nation.

We have seen example of nations where certain oligarchs are accumulating great amount of money and power in expense of larger population. North Korea, Mexico and Russia are few examples. Leader of North Korea, Kim Jong Un is considered one of the most powerful person. However, general public in North Korea are not able to achieve their basic requirements. They are deprived of basic human needs such as Food, shelter, clothes and basic developmental needs such as health, education, transportation. This deprivation makes North Korea a poor and not so great nation, how charismatic a leader can be.

Similarly, a ruler is allocating his scarce resources to make himself great or focus only on less important aspects, in dream of making his nation great make a nation great instantly, his investment will never make his nation great. This cost will eventually come from the plate of public, who were already deprived.

In this way, I agree with the statement favoring general public's welfare as true represtative of greatness of nation, instead of certain ruler, musician or someone else.