Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving

over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to

areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least

some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer

to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer

populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming

trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline

in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old

migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate

the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

Global warming is blatantly one of the factors for animal extinction but it is not the only case. Number of animals in a specific habitat depends on many things such as available food source, relatively comforting weather, less disturbance etc. It seems plausible to blame only one reason for the whole situation depending on the comments of unreliable sources. Proper investigation has to be done to reach to a conclusion about the decrease of arctic deer in arctic regions.

Temperature increase due to global warming is a burning question now. Though we are talking about it to increase social awareness but we are circumscribed only to listen about it because practically we are doing nothing. Scientists already warned us about 1 degree celsius temperature increase in the past decade due to global warming. Arctic regions aren’t excluded from that. Ice bergs are melting which hindered arctic deer for natural migration. Any change in the age old pattern can cause adverse effect on animals. So ice melting can be deleterious for arctic deer which caused the downward tendency in the number of deer. But this is just a common sense applied by the evil hunters to divert the whole situation. So this is nothing but a fallacy.

Instead of perusing the passage, we came to a conclusion which is illogical. We can see the reports were taken from the local hunters which is not a reliable information to trust blindly. Deer hunting is a very profitable business and it is restricted in many countries. Avaricious local hunters can be involved in deer hunting secretly. As a result deer populations are declining. If statements had been taken from unbiased sources, it could be trusted to analyze the situation.

On the other hand, available food sources can be a factor as we all know dishonest people are cutting down trees for their own interest. Arctic deer are dependent on the plants on which they feed. Because of deforestation, their food sources can be affected badly which can cause the decline.

With a blinkered outlook, this though provoking case can’t be solved. We can’t deny the universal truth, global warming. But that doesn’t mean we have to overlook all other reasons. First we have to stop trusting these two faced people and go deeper into the issue. We have to look for the hidden deer hunters as well as the tree hunters. They have to be taken under the boundary of law and proper environment has to be created for the arctic deer to keep them safe from now on. Otherwise there will be a time when we will lose them forever.