A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim a

Crime, punishment and opportunity to penace has always been a topic of discussion among lawyers, politicians, psychologists and humanitarians, owing to widespread effects it can bring. The prose mentions acerbic comment towards criminals mentioning that they should not be allowed any type of civil right, even the benefits from their labor. This was true, throughout most of the history. However,with advancement of ideas, these tight rules should be ammended and reconsidered for betterment of society.

First and foremost, the claim is not correct from human right perspective. Yes, there was a time, criminals were given the most difficult punishments, even capital punishment and there are still nations where criminals are given the worst possible treatment. However, a human being is born with several rights, called as human right and civil rights. Right to food, shelter, Clothing, care, respect and right to labor are the things a human being owns since he was born. It is not natural to make any human being devoid of such rights and as we know, unnatural things are not good for societies on long run. So, no human being should be deprived of his Natural rights, how criminal or wrong that person is.

Secondly, Punishment is given to any criminal, expecting him/her to be better person, more suited to return to society and perform normal functions. For this, the criminal must be motivated such that he/she will realize social norms, values and importance of labor. This is possible only if he/she is given civil rights and right to benefit from his own labor. If he/she does not realize this, the person will never be suitable enough to go back to society and perform his daily activities again. Thus, human rights and right to benefit from labor are necessary to make him suitable for living in society once again.

Further, we have seen several examples of ferocious criminals being good person once again, and even those who have eventually changed themselves to saints. For instance, Ratnakar was a notorious burglar from indian subcontinent, responsible for terror and crimes in the region. However, a saint 'Narad Muni' motivated him to become saint, and the criminal changed himself, into a saint, eventually becoming author of great hindu scripture, 'Ramayana'. There are other less famous cases throughout the history. Thus, motivation in right track is essential to change infamous criminals to good people and even saints.

There are other schools of thought, who claim that abstaining from civil rights and right to benefit from labor will render criminals to the condition of penace and they will realize that they have done really bad thing. However, this statement loses ground since we have known that this type of punishment will render criminals with thoughts of revenge to government and governance system, eventually making them more criminal with time. Thus, the notion mentioning deprivation of criminals from civil rights and rights to own labor needs reconsideration.