The following appeared in a memo from the owner of Green Thumb Gardening Center, a small

business serving a suburban town.

"There is evidence that consumers are becoming more and more interested in growing their

own -vegetables. A national survey conducted last month indicated that many consumers were

dissatisfied with the quality of fresh vegetables available in supermarkets. And locally, the

gardening magazine Great Gardens has sold out at the Village News stand three months in a

row. Thus, we at Green Thumb Gardening Center can increase our profits by greatly

expanding the variety of vegetable seeds we stock for gardeners this coming spring."

The memo contends that there is an increase on the part of consumers to grow their own vegetable and the following evidences were given to substantiate this claim. It was said that in a national survey conducted last month that consumer were not satisfied with the quality of vegetables available and that the gardening magazine by Great Garden sold out for three months at the news stand in the village. For this reason, the memo posited that Green Thumb Garden Center can now increase their profit expanding their seed stock. This memo is based on a lot of assumptions and therefore it is logically flawed.

First, the memo cited an example of a national survey conducted last month which indicated dissatisfaction on the part of consumer due to the quality of vegetables available. The survey conducted was a national survey and hence does not necessarily represent the interest of the in the suburban town. Perhaps they were only dissatisfied with the quality of the vegetables because those that were brought in that particular month were of low quality. In addition, the vegetable quality might also be okay in every other place and only those in the supermarket didn’t meet the satisfaction of the consumers.

In addition, the writer bolstered his points that a garden magazine sold out at the village news stand. Perhaps people in the village who purchased the vegetable are more interested in reading the magazine to broaden their knowledge and not necessarily because they want to start their own garden. Perhaps the increase in sales was due to tourist in the area purchasing more magazines during their visit. It can also be due to the fact that the magazine featured another story in the last three month that the people in the village where more interested in reading.

Furthermore, the assumption that Green Thumb Garden Center profit will increase by increasing the variety of seeds that is being stocked is logically flawed. Except it can be particularly proven that the survey represented the interest of people in the suburban town and that people in the village purchased the magazine because they were interested in starting their own garden, it would not be convinced.

In sum, to substantiate this claim, the speaker must provide a survey representing the interest of the people in the suburban town and provide evidence that they’re more willing to purchase more seeds to create their own garden.