Progress is best made through discussion among people who have contrasting points of views.

Although all humans are physically alike, we defer greatly in the way we thing and in the way we address matters. Since we are independent in our thinking, we cannot always concur with one another hence, we will always have people with contrasting point of views. Having a contrasting point of view in itself is not a bad thing because all our subtle nuances are germane to our progress as humans. However, different notions require different approaches and in some instances, we would have to put our differences aside and reach a consensus in order to make progress. Otherwise, instead of making any meaningful progress we would have nothing but a state of anarchy but nevertheless, the best of progress are made when people with variance of views have discuss together.

First, as the world progresses, technological advancement is also on the increase and more sophisticated equipment and machineries are being discovered. Things that were once posited as facts are now obsolete due to the fact that people with their contrasting points of views came and challenge previously accepted standards. For example, it was once believed that the sun revolves round the earth (geocentric model) and for a long time, people lend credibility to the claim until an Italian man named Galileo, Galilei through assiduously observing astrological phenomenal, substantiated a contrasting point of view that the earth actually revolves round the sun 9heliocentric model).

In addition, to the previous example about how his contrasting point of view has brought about a tremendous progress in science, the Wright brother also through defiling as odds against what was generally accepted posited that it was possible to fly an object that was denser than air. Their opinion clearly contrasted what people believed then and others even denigrated their supposition, but today we have the airplane with which we can travel the world.

Nevertheless, although the previous cases show the nuances in our point can bolster progress, this does not change the fact that we live in a versatile world with variance in each sectors. Hence, the requirements in each sectors definitely defers and a perfect example is the security sector. In the military adherence to plan is very paramount to the success of an operation because if everyone one decides to follow their opinion of what ought to be done, it will only jeopardize the success of the operation.

Lastly, the freedom we enjoy in some part of the world currently is due to the fact that some set of people with contrasting opinion who believed things should be done different stood with what they believed even though it was a sharp contrast to the generally accepted norm. For example, Nelson Mandela of South African believed that all men should be free and he fought for what he believed in, even though that landed him in jail. He later became the first black South African president.

In conclusion, although some situations warrants that we put our differences away temporarily to reach a consensus in order to make meaningful progress, but notwithstanding this, best progresses are made when people of contrasting opinion have discussions.