The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of Butler Manufacturing. “During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing’s safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested.

The author of this analytical piece has drawn an optimistic conclusion, from disjointed and incomplete data, that reducing working hours will lead to an improvement in the safety record. In the support of his position, the writer mentioned that past year Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than Panploy Industries. Moreover, the writer cites the government study to show that sleep deprivation and fatigue are a significant factor in on-the-job accidents. Therefore, the writer recommends that reducing work shifts by one hour will reduce on-the-job accidents. At first glance, it seems plausible, but the in-depth analysis will bring out certain logical fallacies.

The major lacuna in the given article is the unjustified assumption that Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industries are managing the same types of works. The works at the Panoply Industries are likely more safe than Butler Manufacturing. Hence, it's natural that Panoply has fewer on-the-job accidents compared to Butler. Moreover, the writer needs to mention the number of workers in both industries. Because the writer presented the fact that Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more accidents than Panoply. At the same time, it's highly probable that the number of workers at the Panploy is very less compared to Butler industries. Hence, Maybe Butler Industries had a more total number of accidents than Panoply. Therefore, the comparison between the Butler Manufacturing and Panploy is unwarranted.

Furthermore, the writer mentions the recent government study, and unfairly assumed that data presented in the study applies to all the company. There is no information about the total number of people evaluated in the study and there working hours. Also, it's necessary to present the work they were doing and their daily work cycle. Maybe the study focus on the more hardworking jobs compared to Butler Manufacturer. At the same time, it's highly probable that people evaluated in the study had not been skillful enough to do a particular task, which caused more accidents. It is also likely that other significant factors affect in-the-job accidents, which may be presented in the government study but the writer had not considered those factors or mentioned these factors. Hence, it would be unreasonable to assume that a reduction in the working hours will help to reduce the total number of accidents at Butler Manufacturing. Also, it's necessary to have information regarding the changes done in the machinery or workforce at the Bulter Manufacturing last year. Because if there had been more complex machinery installed then workers may be made some error while handling it which caused the accidents. Therefore, the suggestion that shortening work shifts by one hour may not have any effect in reducing accidents.

Given the above, suggestion given by the writer seems extremely unreasonable. All things considering, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of the evidence needed. No convincing reasoning is given. The argument ends with an entirely unjustified optimistic conclusion based on the wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.