The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing, it is stated that fatigue and sleep deprivation are causing more on-the-job accidents at Butler Manufacturing than Panoply Industries because Butler Manufacturing has an hour longer work shift than Panoply Industries. The Board of Directors is recommending shortening one hour of each work shift in order to ensure the reduction of on-the-job accidents so that employers can take enough rest. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are the type of work, factory environment, and condition of equipment in terms of safety at both factories the same? It is possible that Butler Manufacturing manufactures one type of product, on the other hand, Panoply Industries produces different types of things in their factory. Perhaps, the manufacturing mechanism may be different at both places. Further, the condition of the equipment used in Butler Manufacturing is not good which may cause these accidents. On the other hand, Panoply Industries has the best equipment of the current era. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, did Butler Manufacturing experience a similar amount of on-the-job accidents with the same hours of work shifts before this past year? The Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing prematurely assumes that the accidents happening during the past year can be taken into account to make a comparison with Panoply Industries. However, that is not the case. Perhaps, there was no significant increase in on-the-job accidents last year or the years before that in comparison to Panoply Industries. It is possible that Panoply Industries introduced equipment with advanced safety mechanisms that they have reduced their own rate of accidents, making it look like there is an increase in on-the-job accidents at Butler Manufacturing. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, do the employees take the same amount of rest after completing their work shifts at the same time? The Board of Directors is making this assumption that amount of work hours determines the amount of rest the employees take which creates a causal relationship between sleep and accidents. It is possible that the employees don't reach their home at the same time, which leads to a variation in their sleep time. Perhaps, some employees live close to their workplace and some live very far from their workplace. In the case of employees who live really far away, have to get up early to reach their workplace on time which enables them to have less sleep. If the aforementioned notions are valid, then the argument mentioned in the memo is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably, flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If these questions can be answered, and more evidence is offered, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to shorten the hours of each work shift to ensure proper rest of employees.