The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Ensuring that your customers receive the best service and optimal comfort is definitely the best way to boost the reputation of your business. The vice president concerns regarding construction of better quality roads for the shopping mall are justified. However, the recommendation that employing Appian Roadways to construct the access roads is based upon unwarranted assumptions that dramatically decrease its persuasiveness. Therefore, in order to produce a comprehensive conclusion and make an informed decision, the following two questions must be addressed.

First and foremost, what are the usage patterns for the roads created by Good Intention Roadways and Appian Roadways respectively? Without a detailed analysis of the usage patterns that takes into account the number of vehicles and pedistrians, type of vehicles, and , the author's conclusion about the road qualities of each company is not justified. It is possible that Route 101 is frequented by heavy vehicles like trucks and tanks, and is thus susceptible to damage. On the other hand, the Route 40 could be located in a remote region, resulting in less usage and consequent better condition. There is also the possibility that the faster wearing of Route 101 is inevitable owing to harsh climatic conditions.

Second, how credible and efficient are the state-of-art paving machines and the quality-control manager hired by Appian Roadways? Nowhere in the memo does the vice president provide evidence proving the credibility of the newly purchased machines and the quality-control manager' skills. Even though the company's intention of demonstrating continued commitment to quality is commendable, it is likely that they fail to actually achieve the desired outcome. Maybe, the manager is a novice in access road construction business, therefore, highly capable of making mistakes and compromising quality. Without concrete evidence, this statement cannot be used to back the vice president's recommendation.

To sum, the recommendation as it stands is riddled with unwarranted assumptions and fails to be cogent. To ensure that quality isn't compromised, the vice president must ensure that the above mentioned questions are addressed before formulating a conclusion.