The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette, a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the author mentions limited decision making in recent meetings on the part of committee members due to superficial objections raised by non-resident committee members. Based on the presumption that residents are capable of better decision-making regarding the usage of their money, the author recommends that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to make its membership exclusive to city residents. This recommendation, however, is based on unsubstantiated assumptions that dramatically decrease its persuasiveness. It thus, begs the answer to the following three questions to prove its credibility.

Firstly, what were the objections raised by the non-resident committee members, and to what extent do they affect the residents of Oak City? The author, without any evidence, presumptuously assumes that the objections raised by the non-resident committee members were "foolish". Foolishness is a subjective term, and without any concrete evidence, this statement cannot be used to back the author's recommendation.

Second, what were the qualifications, work experiences, and skills of the committee members? It is probable that the non-resident committee members are experts in their field and are scholars in the field of business and politics of cities. Maybe, they are experienced and have assisted other cities having similar problems like Oak City. Getting the opinion of such learned individuals, instead of being foolish, is in fact pragmatic.

Lastly, what is the age demographic of the population in Oak City? While the recommendation of leaving the decision of what is to become of their tax money on the residents themselves seems reasonable, it is flawed. Without knowing about factors like age, education, and income of the population, one cannot make a comprehensive analysis of the capability of the residents to manage their money. A majority of residents may be uneducated or even be minors, having no individual contribution to taxes. Without having the necessary knowledge of all the problems in the city, it will be difficult for residents to take an unbiased and informed decision about where their money should be used, such that it proves to be most beneficial.

Allowing people to judge what is best for them and prompting them to have an opinion about where their hard-earned money goes freely is an excellent thought. However, the conclusion presented by the author, suggesting the removal of non-resident committee members is based on unsubstantiated assumptions. Once the questions raised in above paragraphs are addressed, only then can the committee make an informed decision about voting to restrict its membership to city residents only.