The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president concludes that the responsibility of completing the new building project should be given to Alpha instead of Zeta. This conclusion is formulated on the basis of statistics indicating that the building constructed by Zeta has been more demanding in terms of funds required for maintenance than the building constructed by Alpha. However, the argument presented by the vice president fails to be cogent as the claims are riddled with unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the argument fails to consider the fact that the buildings were constructed in two different regions. It is possible that the construction costs were higher because of the region in which the Zeta company built its building. Perhaps, that region was uneven, and the materials required to build a strong foundation for the building in that region were costlier, thus increasing the overall cost.

Additionally, one year is a short period of time to make judgements about the abilities of a construction company, that too on the basis of the expenses for maintenance of one of its buildings. The author never mentions the way in which these buildings were used. What if the building constructed by Zeta was being used as a place for storing and operating heavy machinery while the building constructed by Alpha was being used as an office, this could explain the greater maintenance cost as well as the higher energy consumption in Zeta’s building.

Lastly, the author never mentions how the stable workforce and little employee turnover affects the quality of the buildings constructed. It is possible that, due to the nature of the companies, greater employee turnover could be potentially better as it would lead to younger and more skilled workers joining the company. Construction work is laborious work which requires and values strength and fitness more over experience.

Thus, due to several unwarranted assumptions and holes in the argument, the vice president’s conclusion is flawed. We need more data to be able to create a comprehensive conclusion and to enable the vice president to make an informed decision.