The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What you do to children, they do to society. The young people of any society are its future torchbearers, hence, to ensure development and growth in the society, one must instill good qualities and values in the youth. Effective communication, a sense of cooperation, and a positive attitude are the qualities of a good leader. However, healthy competition promotes a sense of productivity and enables a person to work to the best of his or her capability. Therefore, while I agree that one must learn to work with others as a team in order to produce optimal gains and a progressive society, it is also important to instill a sense of healthy competition among the youth.

There is competition in every field, be it governance, where there are several parties vying for authority and control, or industry, with different companies trying to promote their products or services as the best available in the market. Hence, instilling a sense of competition is equally important as cooperation. However, one must ensure that competition is healthy and productive. Healthy competition instills within people the need for hard work, constant learning, and improvement. It helps keep the market balanced. Knowledge of your competition is important as ignorance can prove to be very expensive.

However, as a society, one must have a mindset of collaboration and cooperation. In order to function properly, being able to work with others is an important skill that the youth should have. There are several factors that come together to make an industry, numerous people working on different parts of a problem, in different geographical locations even. Managing every element is only possible through efficient communication and undue cooperation. If a car is being assembled, there are several teams working on different parts of the car. One team could be working on the engine, while another could be working on fuel usage optimization. It is essential that these two teams work together to mitigate any discrepancies in the design in order to produce a comprehensive solution.

It is a well-known fact that children start learning at a very young age through observation and imitation. Hence, it is absolutely necessary that parents start teaching important skills like sharing, cooperation, healthy competition, etc. to the children so that they are prepared for the real-world. To best prepare the youth, they should be exposed to different real-life scenarios and educated on the best responses in such situations. An amalgam of competition and cooperation is the best solution for a progressive society.