The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, concludes that the company should allocate a greater share of the budget next year to the advertisement of their movies to the public. This conclusion is however based on unsubstantiated assumptions that dramatically decrease its persuasiveness. Therefore, in order to make an informed decision, the following three questions need to be addressed.

Firstly, what evidence is there that validates the conclusion that the decrease in the number of attendance at Super Screen- produced movies was because of lack of awareness about the availability of good quality movies? The director, without evidence, presumes that the decrease in attendance at their company-produced movie is because of a lack of awareness among the public about its existence. It is probable that the public attended to movies produced by other companies as they aligned better with their interests. It is also possible that the price of the tickets for Super Screen-produced movies increased that year and went out of budget for the majority of movie-goers. Hence, without concrete evidence, the statement cannot be used to back up the director's recommendation.

Secondly, how was the increase in the number of positive reviews calculated? The director never mentions the absolute increase or the percent increase in the number of positive reviews. It is possible that in previous years, very few people gave positive reviews and a 1 % increase in that number is negligible and shouldn't be considered as validation for the director's conclusion. Additionally, it is possible that even though there is an increase in the number of positive reviews, there is also an increase in the number of negative reviews that is unaccounted for in the director's conclusion. Hence, without comparing the company's movie performance analytically with that of others', and producing a detailed comparison chart, one shouldn't base major decision making simply an increase in the number of positive reviews.

Thirdly, what evidence does the director have that increased advertisements will resolve the problem of decreased attendance? It is possible that the increase in advertisement cost outweighs the cost of fewer people attending the movies. There is no proof provided to provide credibility to the claim that increased advertisements will produce efficacious results. Hence, without proper evidence, one cannot make a comprehensive conclusion or an informed decision regarding budget allotment.