Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education is one of the most important facets of a person's life. There is an extreme competition among the students to get into their dream universities. Education must focus on holistic development of students. I disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based that universities should require students to take a variety of courses outside their field of study for the following reasons.

To begin with, universities can encourage its students to follow their passion and take extra courses in whatever fields they are interested, but they should not make it a requirement. The transition from high school to university is stressful enough as is, without the compulsion to take up extra courses. Students might get stressed out if it affects their grades. They might not even have time to complete their courses, and thus, forcing them to take up extra courses will end up being counterproductive. Thus, the college should actively encourage, but not force the students to take up extra courses outside their field.

Furthermore, many students are burdened with the surmount educational loans that they have taken in order to join a university. Not many of them would be affluent enough to afford courses in disciplines that are outside their fields. According to a 2020 survey by the University of Southern California, 75 percent of the students said that they were interested in skills outside their major such as photography, calligraphy, cooking, cartography and learning musical instruments but they simply were not able to afford these courses. Thus, universities can try to make extra-curricular courses more accessible and affordable in order to encourage students to take them up.

Another reason why universities should not force their students to take a variety of courses outside their major is related to each person's interest. If the students are interested to learn a whole lot of different skills, they should definitely be encouraged. Incentives in the form of credits can be given to the students to galvanize them to take up extra courses. To elucidate with an example, an institute in India offers open elective courses with 3 credits every even semester and the students are required to choose a subject not offered by their own department. This creates interest in the students, it gives them an incentive and also doesn't empty their pockets as it is a part of their university.

Some may say that only forcing the students to take up extra courses will make them erudite. However, that is not true. When the students are given their freedom, they will begin to explore their interests, and whether or not they complete tens or hundreds of extra courses, at the end of the day, they would have completed their major, and that makes them educated. To reiterate, I do not agree with the claim that universities should require their students to take up courses outside their major field of study.