The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the passage concludes that shortening the number of working hours will reduce on-the-job accidents and increase productivity. The reason behind this conclusion is based on the assumption that reduced work time will increase the time for sleeping and since the nearby industries have reduced working hours and less percentage of accidents the author assumed that increased work hour is the reason for accidents.

First of all, the working hour might not be the cause of fatigue or sleep deprivation. The workers of the Quiot manufacturing who were the victims of on-the-job accidents might be going through mental disruption because of their family matters or they might have some previous illness related to sleep deprivation and fatigue. Therefore, reduced work hours will not help rather they need treatment or their personal problems need to be solved first. If this is the case then the author’s argument will fall short.

Secondly, though the experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation are the significant factors contributing to on-the-job accidents, it may not be true for the Quiot manufacturing. It is very likely that the accidents in this particular factory correspond to the unskilled labor force. That means novice workers, because of their lack of skill, might be prone to accidents. Even the working condition of this company might be poorer compared to the panoply industries, which may be the fact behind the accidents. So it is unwise to conclude that adequate sleep will increase production and diminish accidents in the Quiot manufacturing.

Finally, if we consider that adequate sleep will enhance production and limit the number of accidents, how can we be sure that workers will sleep after their work? It is very likely that the extra free hours will be consumed by the workers for another job or for other reasons. And if they do not use the time for sleep they will not get remedy from fatigue and sleep depravity. Hence there will be hardly any development in the current situation. Therefore we can claim that if this is then it will only weaken the author’s argument.