Political leaders should withhold information from the public.

Generally hiding information from the mass people seems cynical, but sometimes it is a requisite. Hence, I mostly agree with the prompt that all information should not be made public by a prudent political leader for some reasons.

Admittedly, concealing vital information from the public is an impediment to democracy. When citizens are not aware of the workings of their leader, there will not be a need for any explanation for deeds done by the electorate, thereby the leader can do whatever he/she wants regardless of its benefits or harms. Consequently, an autocratic regime can rise and democracy can be effaced, which obviously will be malevolent for the public in the long run. Paragons like Hitler and Mussolini are sufficient to exemplify the above illustration. They were adept in demagoguery and made people unaware of what they were actually doing while diverting people’s attention to gather their support. Certainly, we all know the consequences, that ended up with the devastating second world war. The above discussion only explains the keen necessity of having a transparent political leader.

However, sometimes it is highly required to hide plans and procedures in public in order for the greater good of the citizens themselves. Because promulgating secret information to the public might be a threat to national safety and security. For example, if a leader discloses the strategies for capturing drug trafficking groups, the plan will be failed certainly. Additionally, unveiling critical news might spread panic among the masses. For instance, a malfunction in a nuclear plant should not be disclosed until the problem is solved because it might arouse panic among general people. But after solving the issue, the news will not harm the people. Therefore, sometimes, it is a prerequisite to conceal information for a leader.

Moreover, if all the pros and cons of a leader are made public, it may create an image crisis. Because, it is hard to find any person without fault even the most honest person might have some foibles in his/her character, and thereby only a few politicians will ever be elected if people are going to find a leader without any blemish in his character. Secondly, any weakness of a leader, when revealed, is a weapon for his/her opponent and therefore put the leader down in the political game. For winning a diplomatic game for the broader development of the country, a leader must be in an advantageous position in a political game. Thirdly, any scandal of a leader might cause the end of his/her political tenure. For example, US president Richard Nixon had to resign for his engagement in the "Watergate” scandal, similar examples could be found throughout the world.

To sum up, hiding information may seem unethical and harmful but sometimes it is necessary for the overall development of a nation. Therefore, a leader needs to distinguish between what to publish and what not to for the benefit of the people he/she is ruling and for himself.