Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller- skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light- reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above memo, the author argues that roller skaters will wane their risk of injuries by investing heavily in high-quality protective gear and reflective material. The author bolsters his argument based on the hospital statistics report, which indicates that vacuous protective equipment is behind most of the accidents. Thus the author assumes that roller skaters need more protective gear as 75 per cent of the casualties are not wearing any protective gear. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author strengthens his claim of lacking protective gear is causing accidents based on the hospital report without any admissible evidence about the report. One may raise questions about the authenticity of the report. In other words, the statistical report is representative of not. There is a possibility that the sample size is very low. Maybe only 3 out of 10 people were admitted to the emergency room for serious injuries and the rest of them are minor injuries. In that case, the author’s argument is built unreliably. The author does not provide any evidence regarding the variability of the report. If the author is able to furnish more information regarding the statistical report perhaps in a form of a systematic research study about how many people are admitted to the emergency room then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author argues that wearing protective clothing and light reflective material will reduce the number of fatalities without any justifiable evidence. Maybe lacking protective gear is not the main reason behind those accidents. Perhaps the poor maintenance of streets and parks is causing the accidents. There is a possibility that the city does not have a strict traffic rule and reckless driving are causing most of the fatalities. If any one of the above reasons is true then the author’s argument holds no water. The author does not provide sufficient information regarding the accidents. If the author can provide more legitimate evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of reasons behind the accidents of skateboarders then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

Thirdly, the author argues that by investing in high-quality protective gear skateboarders will be less prone to serious injuries without giving any details about the skateboarders. Perhaps high-quality protective gear is very costly and most of the skateboarders can not afford it. Even if this is not the case maybe reckless skateboarding and violation of traffic rules are the main cause of the accidents. In that case, using protective gear will not be effective in preventing serious injuries. To rectify his claim the author has to give sufficient information regarding the skateboarders perhaps in the form of a survey about skateboarders to rectify his claim otherwise the author’s recommendation is seriously unwarranted.

In conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can answer the three questions above and offers more evidence perhaps in the form of a systematic research study then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident