The following appeared in Ram, the Altamonte High School student newspaper.

“Of Altamonte students polled, 65% say they participate in an intramural, a varsity, or a community sports team. Being a member of a sports team keeps one fit and healthy and promotes an active lifestyle. Since the majority of students are taking care of their physical fitness after or outside of school, Altamonte High should eliminate physical education classes and put more resources into the development of its intramural and varsity sports teams.”

The author of the article believed that physical education (PE) classes should be removed from the curriculum and resources should be provided to intramural and varisty sports teams because 65% of all students polled indicated that they participated in a sports team. However, the author has assumed that most students participate in intramural and varisty sports teams without any supporting evidence. In addition, the author has equated PE classes with sports teams and has accepted that the results of the poll represented the general population. Therefore, the assertions of the author are flawed.

Although the author claimed that 65% of all students polled were in an intramural, a varsity, or a community sports team, the author has not provided specific data indicating the category in which the students belonged to. Suppose that the ratio of students in intramural, varsity, and community sports teams was 1:1:63. If the resources were mainly provided to intramural and varsity sports teams, 63% of all students would receive less resources while only 2% of all students benefit from this change. This distribution of resources would be unfair to the majority of the students. Therefore, the author should provide data that specify the ratio of students in each type of sports teams. If few students participate in community sports team, then the author would be justified to claim that more resources should be diverted to sports teams with more people.

Even if more resources should be given to intramural and varisty sports teams, the author has not provided evidence that demonstrate that PE classes are equivalent with sports teams. PE classes could teach diverse concepts, such as physical health and salubrious diets, which might be topics ignored by coaches of sports teams. Consequently, if the author could offer evidence that suggest that the contents of sports teams and PE classes are similar, then the argument of the author would be more persuasive.

One problem of polls is that people often interpret a sample as a sound representation of the entire population. However, different polling methods could result in drastically distinct results. The author affirmed that 65% of all students participated in a sports team. However, this poll might have been conducted near an outdoor facility and most of the respondents were students who enjoyed fitness and exercise. In fact, the majority of students of Altamonte High School might not exercise regularly and weekly PE classes are the only opportunity for them to exercise. The author can reinforce his or her perspective that PE classes should be removed if the author could interview every student in Altamonte High School and tally the number of students who have sufficient exercise every week. If all the students already exercise regularly and the only function of PE classes is to arrange a special time for students to exercise, then the author could argue persuasively that since all students exercise, PE classes should be removed.

In conclusion, the author’s conclusion that PE classes should be eliminated is flawed because the author has assumed that the statistics were indicative of the general population and the author has equated PE classes with sports teams. If the author could provide more data for the number of students in each type of sports team or the amount of exercise students perform each week, the author would make his or her arguments more powerful.