Most of the money devoted to basic scientific research should instead be diverted to applied scientific research.

Scientific research is crucial for novel discoveries and innovations. Proponents of applied scientific research might argue that more funding should be provided to applied science since it is more practical and possibly more lucrative. However, science should be based on a solid understanding of the world and should not be dominated by the pursuit of profits. Therefore, money should be equally distributed for basic scientific research and applied scientific research.

In recent years, new products such as smart phones and smart watches have revolutionized our lives. Consumers are buying more electronic equipment and brands such as Apple and Samsung have even created their own fan base. Consequently, it seems reasonable for businesses to solely invest in technologies that can attract the attention of consumers. However, this argument is myopic because it overlooks the fact that applied technology is based on basic technology, and without basic technology applied technology would struggle to advance. For example, recently companies have started to offer screens that can bend. If companies focused all their efforts on trying to make screens bend, they are unlikely to succeed because screens have always been rigid and making foldable screens using their current technology is almost impossible. Nevertheless, if companies used a portion of their research and development budget to understand how does photons and light function at an angle, they might discover previously unknown properties of photons and light and increase their changes of making new discoveries that can benefit their applied scientific research. Applied scientific research should be based on a firm foundation of basic scientific research, hence the importance of basic scientific research is not inferior to that of applied scientific research and funding should not be prioritized for applied scientific research.

Advocates of applied scientific research could make a case by arguing that applied scientific research is more lucrative. While this argument appears true, it is flawed because it is based on the assumption that basic scientific research cannot be commercialized. In reality, basic scientific research might have simply not reached a stage that allows it to be monetized. Although applied scientific research is more profitable for now, basic scientific research might be even more lucrative in the future. For example, understanding concepts such as survival of the fittest and natural selection can hardly help anyone make a living, but scientific innovations such as genetically modified organisms are extremely profitable. If scientists who proposed evolution theories ceased to research these theories and instead spent their time and money on applied science, such as a fertilizer that makes plants grow quicker, they would never have the opportunity to create genetically modified organisms. The example of genetically modified organisms demonstrates the importance of basic scientific research. As basic scientific research is performed, knowledge would accumulate over time until another breakthrough discovery, which can be monetized, is made.

In conclusion, applied scientific research should not receive the bulk of funding provided to applied scientific research and basic scientific research. In fact, both applied scientific research and basic scientific research are equally essential as basic scientific research has the potential to be developed into applied scientific research, and it is the foundation that paves the way for new discoveries. Decision-makers should provide funds equally to both types of research to maximize the opportunity of academic success.