The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The owner describes a policy to ensure a reduction in the expenses at the movie rental stores. This policy involves cutting down operating hours and removing stocks of movies older than 5 years. While the policy does seem sound, there are several factors that need to be considered before it should be adopted. These factors must prove to be coherent with the results that the company wants to achieve.

The policy states reducing operational hours, which might reduce the operational cost, we must consider whether it would also impact the sales due to the time cut. After all, reducing 3 operational hours means there would be no sales in these hours, so this has a direct impact on the revenue and profit made by the company. For example - If a store in an area is in the vicinity of a huge corporate complex and these people often visit the store after their work hours which is close to 7 pm, closing the store at 6 pm would impact the sales with the risk of losing valuable customers who might just go to another store. So, the cut down of time is a good policy to cut down operational costs but it should be implemented based on additional factors of which the one discussed above is an important one.

If there is a cut down on stocks movies that were released more than five years ago, this too would reduce maintenance and operational costs. Still, the company needs to evaluate and analyze the revenue generated by sales of the movies released more than 5 years ago. Do these movies still produce a significant profit; this is a question that needs consideration. Just because the movies were released 5 years ago does not necessarily mean their sales must be dormant. The argument also states that because the complaints were made by very few customers, the policies can be adopted. The argument never states what these complaints were and just concludes based on a modicum of customers having complaints. These few customers mentioned may be the clients who do the maximum number of purchases, from whom the maximum amount of profit is earned. If this simple fact is overlooked the sales might go down affecting the overall goal of the policy.

The owner further states that raising prices is not an option, but what if their competitors have raised the prices because they too were facing declining profits. If a majority of the movie renting companies have increased their prices, even after raising their own prices by a bit Movie Galor might keep the reputation of having low prices. The argument also assumes that these policies can be ubiquitous throughout their stores, but stores in different areas have different operational parameters which must be considered, and policies should be mended according to them. While the policies mentioned would reduce expenditure, whether it would affect the overall profit and thus overall revenue, needs to be examined.